The Present is a Gift

We all like to worry about how we or anything related to us will end up in the future. However, is this completely necessary, or is living in the now more important, with the occasional prudential thought being considered?

When I was talking to my grandma the other day, we were talking about how I would like to accomplish certain goals of mine so my future would look bright, but she didn’t receive this too well. She was telling me that my interests could possibly change, and that always thinking about the future could potentially be harmful.

Image result for what should I do

Firstly, I have been wanting to create an app for google play, but I had to reassess my drive for this goal. Was it for my future success, or was it born out of my current interest to code, develop, and just be innovative? Suddenly I had to re – assess most of the goals that I have set for myself, and the goals that I had established a while back.

I thought long and hard, and it was an interesting and bizarre journey of thought because I wasn’t just assessing the surface level question of why I wanted to achieve those goals, but the implications of those goals.

Image result for journey of brain gif

I realized most of the goals I had set for myself always had something contingent on the future and its implications, whether it was getting a job at a certain place so I could improve my resume, which would in turn improve my chance of getting a job or internship in the future.

I had to understand whether this sort of thought process was damaging to the goals I had set for myself, or whether it was actually helpful.

When I look back at it , the reason many of my goals in the past weren’t accomplished the way I wanted them to be because I subliminally put too much pressure on myself, but when it was mentioned to me that I focused too much on the future, I realized it was harmful to my pursuit of achieving my goals.

I suddenly recalled the quote from the movie kungfu panda, which is “yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift”. Essentially, I was forgetting the vitality of the “then and now” and prioritizing events that were possible but goals that wouldn’t definitely happen.

Image result for the past is a present kung fu panda

In hindsight, when I set a goal for myself that was premised on my my own interest rather than a future reward, I was generally more successful in accomplishing that goal. For example, I have been trying to learn Hindi for many years, and this wasn’t out of the future benefits I would get out of it. I simply have a passion for learning the language and watching the movies, which keeps me driven. Although learning the language may be very helpful, its usefulness wouldn’t be as powerful in motivating as my interest in the language itself.

Learning Hindi is just one example ; I understand I can implement this sort of thought process behind most of the goals I set for myself. Although this form of thinking works for me, it doesn’t necessarily have to work for you.

Image result for Yeah, of course gif

However, my personal conviction is that being excessively caught up in the future can be overwhelming and can make the mind hamstrung. Achieving your goals, although crucial to you, doesn’t have to be this stressful process that it is stereotyped to be. It will most definitely require dedication, but if you actually enjoy what you are doing, you are actually more likely to achieve the goal.

It’s ok to think about your future in moderation, but being overly consumed by it is destructive and fruitless. Enjoy the process of achieving your goals because you are more likely to achieve them, and each day is a gift.

Image result for gift box

5 thoughts on “The Present is a Gift

  1. I can definitely appreciate the anticipation of the future and the anxiety this comes with. I constantly worry about my future, am I going to be a successful actor or entrepreneur or living in a dumpster? I am not kidding I actually get these thoughts. I think it is crucial to stay in the moment and think about the goals you want to accomplish short term while having goals for the future too but climbing the ladder slowly to that goal. Time is such a hard concept to grasp that sometimes it’s not worth ruminating over, just have faith that and take everything day by day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think being overly consumed with the concept of time is something a lot of us can relate to. It’s interesting that you note how the concept of “wasting time” interferes with both your personal and professional goals. The pressure that comes with this time anxiety really does make you want to take a step back and analyze what you’re doing. I find myself feeling anxiety about time as well- fearing that I am wasting my time with meaningless endeavors that wont benefit my future, and then I realize that time is really nothing to be afraid of. When we enter college, we’re instilled with the idea that we have to know what we’re going to do with our future (especially by sophomore year); and that we must expand our resume’s with meaningful experiences and skills from the very start. However, as a senior now, i’ve learned that life is complicated, shit will always get in the way of these ideas, and time will always feel fleeting. Maybe it’s because no one has ever really told us to take our time- to understand ourselves and what we truly want out of life, that we have this never-ending fear of wasting it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is definitely very relatable, I think about how now a days so many millennials and young people are moving between jobs much faster than before, and it’s because we’re all so set on the future. We get too caught up in the end goal rather than the process it takes to get there and it is altering our mindset. The increase of technology being used in our every day lives has put more and more stress on time and time management since we can always be in contact with friends, co-workers, family, and can be notified instantly when we need to reach deadlines or achieve something within a period of time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That Disney quote is a real motivator, brings a tear to the eyes. I, unfortunately, struggle with this problem where I fail to move on from the past on some occasions. I need to realize when to move on and to focus on what is going on in my life in the present. The wisdom from this blog post has helped me somewhat realize this. If i successfully follow this advice, I can actually successfully lessen the amount of stress I feel on a daily basis. I can’t wait to read the next wise post next week.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I liked this post because it is something I can relate too. I always considered myself to be someone that lives in the present and it has made life pretty good for me mentally and physically so far. But as I’m coming close to end of college, I’m at the point where all I’ve been thinking about lately is my future. These thoughts hinder my mind all the time and I feel like theres a pressure there. I always try to remind myself that I’m a good person and a hard worker so I should just enjoy the time I have left and let everything come together. Thinking about your future can cause too much unnecessary stress and in the times we live in there’s too many factors that add to that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment